Peru Diary, Day 9

A travel day! We flew from Cusco to Juliaca, and then took a bus over to Puno, on the shores of Lake Titicaca. I am happy to report that we are all feeling much better after our sojourn in Cusco, and neither of my parents has even needed oxygen for the altitude in the last day. Puno is the highest point on our journey, at 12,556 feet, but I am hopeful that taking it slow with the altitude will mean we don’t all wake up with horrible headaches tomorrow. I guess there is always coca tea if we do.

The landscape here is so arid and harsh that just looking at it makes me want to chug down a gallon of water and then spill another one over my head. It all looks like the setting of a Spaghetti Western…someone should make an Andean western. We haven’t been down to the shore yet, because we arrived at dusk and the guy at the front desk at our hotel advised us that it was dangerous after dark. My guidebook tells me hiking up to the lookout points above Puno is also dangerous. Not my favorite. I was looking forward to taking in some of the scenery on foot, but it looks like that’s not going to happen…not on the shore anyway. There is an island where you have to climb like 550 steps, so I guess that will be some exercise? 

The little town of Puno is..lively but exceedingly plain. If it were a literary character, it would be a girl in a Jane Austen novel who ends up married to a farmer. 

Leave a Reply

